Ussher/Taylor top double ski race

For the second week running the Siyaphambili Surfski Series had to adapt to blustery October winds but the rejigged course for the Citadel Double Ski Race gave experienced and novice paddlers a taste of downwind pleasure followed by a tough paddle back into the wind.

The south westerly gale peaking at 15 knots forced the organisers to set a two-lap sausage course inside Durban Bay aimed primarily at looking after the safety of the many novice paddlers that support the series.

As a double ski format event, many seasoned paddlers opted to paddle with novice paddlers and give them a safe first experience in downwind ocean paddling conditions.

With a number of big name paddlers away racing the Fish River Canoe Marathon in the Eastern Cape, local stalwarts Mark Ussher and Duane Taylor took full advantage to grab the overall line honours.

Julia McAllister and Lyn Bennett mastered the heavy weather conditions well to take the women’s honours, while the short course line honours went the way of Debbie Gillet and Kate-Lynn Todd.

The race started with a minute of silence for Dean Chiazzari, the popular Toti Canoe Club paddler who has spent many hours coaching and mentoring the young paddlers at the Siyaphambili Surf Ski Club. Chiazzari died of a suspected heart attack in Cradock on Friday.

The three-race series concludes with the popular relay format race on Sunday 17 October.

1 Mark Ussher/Duane Taylor 1.02.30
2 Bruce Glenday/Richard Hogg 1.05.20
3 Duncan Cartwright/Charl Massyn 1.05.30
4 Joe Tereblanche 1.07.06
5 Skye Prato/Don Gobey 1.07.26
6 Trevor Vernes/Jorg Wellinger 1.07.39
7 Kwanele Banda/Keelyn Tucker 1.07.59
8 Billy Harker/Mikaila Brown 1.08.43
9 Steven Taylor/Dave Aikens 1.08.46
10 Julia McAllister/Lyn Bennett 1.09.59 (1st women)
11 Steve Evans/Nigel Oxenham 1.11.41
12 Thubelihle Banda/Wandile Dube 1.11.51
13 John Dimmick/Senzo Ngcobo 1.12.23
14 Mark Lewin 1.13.41
15 Ian Marais/Dave Fraser 1.13.42
16 Anthony Scott/Lynn Combrink 1.14.31
17 Brandon Jackson/Rob Drummond 1.15.00
18 Paul Cormack/Jayden Jansen Van Rensburg 1.16.12
19 Greg Vogt/Keegan Vogt 1.27.02

Short Course
1 Debbie Gillet/Kate-Lynn Todd 42,03
2 Karin Botha/Gary Clarke 42,5
3 Lucy Markewicz/Tasnim Nabbie 44,11
4 Derek Hauptfleisch/Keigan Clarke 44,2
5 Craig Smith/Sean Mckenna 45,33
6 Stephen Law 46:00:00
7 David Douglas/Samuel Douglas 46,09
8 Gary Bowler/Catherine Hampton 48,27
9 Monique Boshoff/Joshua Olsen 48,47
10 Tracey Nuss/Vanessa Mayhew 50,29
11 Luke Ferreira/Hayden Lee/Fraser Williams 53,33
12 Jacqui De Billot 56,58
13 Terence Galloway/Leigh-Anne Fisher 57,3

Comments are closed